Anna Arstad, a recent graduate of Asotin High School, has been awarded a $2,500 P.E.O. STAR Scholarship, and her sponsoring chapter, P.E.O. Chapter FE in Clarkston, has awarded her an additional $1,000 scholarship.


MOSCOW — University of Idaho students from this region won a share of $25,000 toward developing business ideas this spring during the annual Idaho Pitch and Startup Vandal competitions held on the UI campus here.

Winners during this year’s competitions April 26 included:

Startup Vandal: New Products Track: first place ($5,000) — The NateGate, a pickup tailgate extender, Heather and Nate Fisher of Deary; second place ($3,500) — HayTech bale monitoring, Brady Wonenberg of Moscow (one of three); third place ($1,500) — Idaho Recamper camper refurbishing, Brent Reed of Lewiston, (one of three).

Startup Vandal: Technology Track: first place (tie), $4,250 each — GCSP Trash2Gas curriculum, Devin Richards of Princeton, (one of six), and Infection Protection catheter, Alex Boatman of Lewiston (one of two); second place ($2,000) — Neurochi Meditation virtual reality, Peter Schmidt of Moscow, (one of four).


National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities have been announced. They are worth between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years at their financing institution.

Scholarship winners from this region and their university include:

Olivia L. Dow of Moscow, homeschool, University of Idaho, Moscow; Seth E. Lunders of Troy, Troy High School, UI; Laina M. Wyrick of Pullman, Logos School (Moscow), Washington State University.


Students from this region are among 85 students who have been awarded $2,500 scholarships from Northwest Farm Credit Services based in Spokane.

They include Theresa Wemhoff of Grangeville, Frank Newman of Lenore, Mallery Sisson of Moscow, Jordyne Fredrickson of Troy and Carmen Gingerich of Pomeroy.


Emily Schultheis of Colton, a recent graduate of Colton High School, has been awarded the 2019 College Scholarship from the Whitman County Association of Realtors.


BOISE — Gov. Brad Little has announced recipients of the 2019 Governor’s Cup Scholarships to Idaho colleges and universities. Each award is $3,000 per year, renewable for up to four years.

Students from this region receiving scholarships include:

Academic (four-year programs): Abbigail Davis, graduate of Highland High School (Craigmont); Jordyne Frederickson, graduate of Troy High School; Jordyn Higgins, graduate of Prairie High School (Cottonwood); llyson LeForce, graduate of Potlatch High School.

Career technical (two- or three-year programs): James Gregory, graduate of Salmon River High School (Riggins); Samuel Naden and Kaleb Noah, graduates of Orofino High School.

Recommended for you