Clegg is new president of Mormon stake

Lewiston's new stake presidency, from left: First Counselor Walter Williams, President Matthew Clegg and Second Counselor Michael Kessinger.

Matthew Clegg has been called and sustained as the president of the Lewiston stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Serving with Clegg will be Walter Williams as first counselor and Michael Kessinger as second counselor. They were called and sustained during a Stake Conference held March 9-10.

They succeed Bill Perez and his counselors, Rod Larson and Reid Folsom, who served the previous nine years.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints divides the world into geographical areas known as stakes, which are broken down into local congregations called wards or branches.

The Lewiston stake consists of nine wards and one student branch that meet in Lewiston, Clarkston, Orofino, Kamiah and Grangeville.

There are 4,698 members in the stake and 16 full-time missionaries. The stake presidency oversees the spiritual and temporal welfare of church members, as well as directing service to the community.

Recommended for you