The Civility Project

The following stories and columns exploring the challenges of civil discourse in a divided society appeared in the Lewiston Tribune as part of the Civility Project, a series of reporting and community events aimed at furthering the discussion.

Friday, October 02, 2020

    The Civility Project included stories and columns, town hall meetings and the Civility Luncheon and Forum. The COVID-19 pandemic has since engulfed the nation. The Civility Project seemed to come to a halt, but behind the scenes we remain committed. Basic civility is listening. It is being patient. It is understanding and accepting political differences. It is even being polite.

    Thursday, May 28, 2020
    Sunday, March 01, 2020
    Wednesday, February 26, 2020

    The National Institute for Civil Discourse states 78 percent of Americans believe incivility and political dysfunction prevent the nation from moving forward.

    Saturday, February 22, 2020
    Wednesday, February 19, 2020
    Tuesday, February 18, 2020
    Monday, February 17, 2020
    Sunday, February 16, 2020
    Saturday, February 15, 2020

    Barely eight years after the Constitution was ratified, America’s first and only independent president cited extreme partisanship or “the spirit of party” as one of the greatest dangers facing the republic.

    Saturday, February 08, 2020
    Friday, February 07, 2020
    Saturday, February 01, 2020